Website currently undergoing construction. Some features may be limited.
Home re: Grants

SAMRM: Grants & Awards

The Society for the Advancement of Modeling and Role-Modeling will award an annual research grant each year on April 1st. The research grant is designed to encourage nurses to test concepts and linkages to advance Modeling and Role-Modeling theory. Applications are due on January 31st.

Research Proposals


Formal preparation in the conduct of nursing research

Masters or higher degree in nursing or, or nursing student in a higher degree program in nursing engaged in a supervised scholarly project

Members of SAMRM will be given preference all else being equal

SAMRM board members are not eligible to apply


Submit the application and research proposal according to the guidelines (data collection may be in process)

Submit a signed formal agreement for money usage and public report of findings (page2 of application form)

Grant Submissions

Maximum of 10 double-spaced, typewritten pages, using 12-point font and one-inch margins

See Research Guidelines for detailed information required in application

Submit applications by U.S. mail or by email to designated Awards Committee Chair

Selection Process

All submission will undergo review by the SAMRM Awards Committee. The proposal will be reviewed according to:

  • Quality of written proposal;
  • Contribution of the proposed research to MRM theory and nursing science; and
  • Research proposal budget.
  • Download the criteria and Directoins HERE (.docx format)

Mail or email to:

Dr. Eileen Deges Curl
2110 Brewton Circle
Beaumont, TX 77706

Outstanding Contribution Award

This award recognizes persons who have made outstanding contributions to the work of the Society. SAMRM's Goals serve as criteria for applications. Nominations can be submitted up to one year prior to the next biennial conference, but no later than 3 months before the conference. An application form can be found in Word format here. Word.

Past award recipients include:

Honorary Membership

This award recognizes persons who have made outstanding contributions to the work of the Society but are not regular members. Nominations can be made to the Executive Committee at any time by contacting the current Secretary of SAMRM.

Past honoree(s) include:

Lance Erickson who provided extensive service to SAMRM during the formative years by seeking non-profit status for SAMRM, participating in conference organization and implementation 1986, 1988 and 1990, and through financial support of the organization.